IWHoF Announces Partnership with ACA | Canoe – Kayak – SUP – Raft – Rescue


July 27, 2016 (Fredricksburg, VA) – The International Whitewater Hall of Fame (IWHoF) has announced a new partnership with the ACA | Canoe-Kayak-SUP-Raft-Rescue, promising enhanced collaboration for its 2017 induction ceremony and beyond.

IWHoF will provide the strategic guidance and organize and run the induction program, including coordinating nominations, elections and induction ceremonies. The ACA will implement outreach and coordinate administrative, website and social media efforts.  This includes updating contact information for over 100 IWHoF Affiliate Organizations and over 100 members of the electorate, which includes past inductees, screeners and at-large electors.

“We are excited about this new partnership because it provides implementation assistance and a connection to 30,000 paddlers who are members of ACA to volunteer and help support IWHoF’s efforts,” says IWHoF Board of Governors Chair, Risa Shimoda.

To read more, please click here.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

IWHOF Announces the 2013 Hall of Fame Honorees

The voting by the international electorate on the tremendous slate of 2013 Hall of Fame Finalists is now in.  IWHOF’s board of governors is pleased to announce the winners of the International Whitewater Hall of Fame Class of 2013 Honorees:

Ramon Eaton  – USA (deceased)

Milo Duffek– Switzerland

Peter Knowles – UK

Graham Mackereth – UK

Read more about each of these individuals on their respective profile pages, and the 2013 Honorees page.
The 2013 Induction Ceremony will take place at PaddleExpo, in Germany. October 3rd, 2013.

Posted in 2013 Honorees, International Whitewater Hall of Fame | 1 Comment

IWHOF Announces The 2013 Hall of Fame Finalists.Voting Begins NOW!

Congratulations to the 2013 International Whitewater Hall of Fame Finalists

Thirteen amazing men and women, with illustrious whitewater careers, have been selected as 2013 Finalists for International Whitewater Hall of Fame. These individuals are part of whitewater paddling history.  We congratulate each of them, as they enter the next and final step toward possible Induction into the Hall of Fame for 2013. Each year, a slate of finalists is selected from the candidates by the IWHOF screening Committee. Voting then begins by the IWHOF Electorate members to select the final one individual per category for 2013.  It is important to note that those Finalists who do not get voted into the Hall of Fame in a given year have additional opportunities in subsequent years.

Each Finalist is grouped under his/her IWHOF category.  Voting by the IWHOF Electorate members takes place during February. IWHOF will announce the winners in early March.

And the Finalists are:

Hugh Canard – New Zealand
Tom Christopher – USA
Ramon Eaton – USA

Danielle Woodward – Australia
Milo Duffek – Switzerland
Robert Jay Evans – USA

Pete Winn – USA
Peter Knowles – UK
Dave Manby – UK

Graham Mackereth – UK
Shane Benedict – USA
Bill McGinnis – USA
Horst Fursattel – Germany

Read the profiles about each of these Finalists here.


Posted in 2013 Finalists, International Whitewater Hall of Fame | Leave a comment

IWHOF Announces Nominations for 2013 Candidates, with Induction to be Held at PaddleExpo 2013

Dear IWHOF Honorees, Screeners, Members of the Electorate, and Affiliate Organizations,

The 2013 Nominations process is open until December 1st, 2012 this year. We have made some key changes to our Hall of Fame nominations process schedule – moving the nominations deadline to December 1st. There is plenty of time for you to nominate your favorite whitewater candidate for the IWHOF Advocate, Champion, Pioneer, or Explorer categories.

  • You can access today’s IWHOF complete press release online here.
  • Mark your calendars and plan to attend the 2013 Induction Ceremony at PaddleExpo 2013 in Germany next September.
  • Note that we have added a “TRANSLATE” button to the updated IWHOF website. Now you can read IWHOF information in (almost) any language. Let us know your feedback.


Posted in International Whitewater Hall of Fame, IWHOF, Nominations | Leave a comment

Tribute to 2011 IWHOF Inductees Video

The Tribute to 2011 IWHOF Inductees video has been posted. This year’s video was produced by Sasha Motivala Cinematography and has some great vintage whitewater footage. Learn about each of this year’s honorees contributions to the world of whitewater. Visit iwhof.org or YouTube to check it out!

Posted in 2011, Honorees, International Whitewater Hall of Fame, IWHOF Honoree Videos, JP Burny, Oliver Cock, Richard Bangs | 1 Comment

The 2011 IWHOF induction was a success for the our inductees and attendees!

This years IWHOF celebration included a trip on the Chili Bar section of the South Fork American River  A great group of paddlers joined up to kayak and raft under sunny skies and a good release level. The induction banquet was held Saturday night at the Sierra Nevada House in Coloma, California.

IWHOF was honored to have inductee Richard Bangs attended with his family, and Class of ’06 member Tom Johnson (age 92)and his daughter Leeann Johnson Preston flew from Michigan to join the festivities. Read more about this years Honorees and induction ceremony here.

Posted in 2011 Induction Ceremony, International Whitewater Hall of Fame, Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

IWHOF Ebay Auctions on new Jackon Star Elite Kayak and Kokatat Ronin Pro PFD!

Our friends at Jackson Kayak and Kokatat have donated a new Star Elite (2010)  and Ronin Pro Rescue PFD. We are auctioning off the boat and PFD on Ebay and proceeds from the sale of the boat and PFD will be used to support IWHOF and the annual induction dinner in 2012. Log on to Ebay to start your bidding! Enter soon, auction closes October 14, 2011!  Winners will be announced at the 2011 IWHOF Induction Dinner.

Posted in Ebay Auction, International Whitewater Hall of Fame, News | Leave a comment

Honorees to attend 2011 Induction Ceremony

We welcome past IWHOF honorees Martin Litton, Rob Lesser, and Tom Johnson to be a part of the 2011 celebration in California!

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Announcing 2011 IWHOF Sponsorship Opportunities

Support an important cause, become a 2011 Sponsor for IWHOF!
The updated 2011 Partnership Program has six levels of sponsorship available including a level for individuals wishing to support IWHOF. With your support we can continue to honor the inductees to IWHOF and provide awards, commemorative DVDs, and travel assistance for inductees. Learn more about the 2011 partnership program here

Posted in International Whitewater Hall of Fame, IWHOF, IWHOF Partnership Program, News, Sponsorship | Tagged , | 1 Comment

2011 International Whitewater Hall of Fame Honorees Announced

The votes are in and the 2011 Honorees have been elected from a great list of candidates! The Honorees in each of these categories are: ExplorerRichard Bangs (USA),  ChampionJP Burny (Luxembourg), and AdvocateOliver Cock (United Kingdom). Each of these honorees have made a lasting contribution to the whitewater community. The induction ceremony of the Class of 2011 will be on Saturday evening, October 15th  at the Sierra Nevada House in Coloma, California, USA.

Read the full press release here

Posted in Honorees, International Whitewater Hall of Fame, News | Leave a comment