Lives of 2010 IWHOF Class Span a Century of Dedication to Riversports

July 9, 2010
Contact: Media Relations

Five Individuals from Five Countries Chosen by International Electorate

(Gatlinburg, TN) – The International Whitewater Hall of Fame (IWHOF) Board of Governors has announced its 2010 Inductees. The eldest of this year’s class was born 100 years ago and the five individuals elected hail from as many nations. A celebration of these individuals’ contributions will be held at the 2010 IWHOF Induction Ceremony on September 25, 2010 outside of Washington, DC at the Bretton Woods Recreation Center:

Pioneer – Theo Bock (Germany) was renowned as the country’s first river explorer, an accomplished racer, and the organizer of the first German national championships.

Explorer – Mikey Abbott (New Zealand)
is paddling’s first truly global adventurer having completed multi-day self-supported expeditions in all major mountain ranges in the world.

Champion – Michal Martikán (Slovakia) has won more Olympic medals than any other individual in four Olympic Games (2000-08).


    • Helen Brownlee (Australia)has contributed to the sport at the international level for over 50 years from co-founding the Australian Canoe Federation to contributing to the success of canoeing at the 2000 Sydney Olympics.


  • Risa Shimoda (USA)

has been an active river steward and organizer for grassroots advocacy, freestyle paddling, and whitewater park promotion.


“We are extremely proud to have an opportunity to honor these paddlers,’ notes Ed Council, Chief Executive Officer for the Paddlesports Industry Foundation. “This group, as in the past, represents heroes we know, or should get to know due to the their tremendous drive and dedication to the treasures humans can find only on rivers.”

The International Whitewater Hall of Fame is a program of the Paddlesports Industry Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization whose mission is “to recognize and honor individuals who have made significant contributions to whitewater related activities.” IWHOF was founded in 2004 and is endorsed by the International Canoe Federation and International Rafting Federation. Honorees are chosen through nominations submitted through its Affiliates, a screening committee and a body of international electors. IWHOF welcomes the contribution of time, in-kind and financial resources from paddlers, the industry, and members of the public.

For more information contact Media Relations, 828-488-3420 or visit

# # # #

This entry was posted in Honorees, News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *